Stockly.com Forums  

Go Back   Stockly.com Forums > Altair 8800 > Altair 8800

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-15-2007, 05:35 AM
frotz frotz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default larger motherboards

I have several old Morrow backplanes of varying sizes. How would I go about using one of these in addition to or in place of the stock 4-slot backplane?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-15-2007, 11:12 AM
Grant Stockly Grant Stockly is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 447
Default

Just wire 1-1, 2-2, ... , 100-100 and you'll be fine.

Use short wires, and make them all the same length. I have a set of pictures for installing a second/third/etc motherboard in the Altair. I'll upload them soon.

Grant
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2007, 11:40 AM
marty marty is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 118
Talking motherboard

Hi;
IN the Altair 8800b and in the IMSAI the Motherboard faced the other direction, So I am not sure that you can make it work, But HEY, give it a try. Especially if you have an 18-20 slot board. Also you might have to either pull the first slot connector out to have holes to put the wires in or use a Blank S-100 board to wire them to and plug it in the first slot.
THANKS Marty
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2007, 05:00 PM
Just Bob! Just Bob! is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: I am currently in Clinton Township Michigan, which is a little North & West of the Motor City
Posts: 4
Wink Correction...

The Altair 8800, 8800a 8800b, and 8800bt mother boards all have the same orientation, slots running right to left. The IMSAI and others like Compupro, had mother boards running front to back, and actually had a card cage, whereas the Altair's used individual card guides attached to the mother board.

The only downside to using a non-Altair mother board for expansion, is that there are no provisions for attaching the card guides.

Just Bob!
__________________
Keep your data bits in sequence, and your ribbons in the guides..."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2007, 08:43 PM
frotz frotz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default

I suppose one could rig up a card cage by running some rails crossways as appropriate. Also, s100 busses tended to ring, especially when long. This can be fixed on the far end of the bus with a terminator card. It doesn't seem clear how to do this with the primary motherboard on the Altair. Perhaps could this be addressed by running the front panel wires not to a motherboard, but to another card which has proper terminator resistors?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.