Stockly.com Forums  

Go Back   Stockly.com Forums > Altair 8800 > Altair 8800

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2007, 02:48 PM
geneb geneb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 7
Default card guide...

Something like the attached image perhaps?

g.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Proud owner of 80-0007
http://www.f15sim.com - The only one of its kind.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2007, 03:07 PM
TomL_12953 TomL_12953 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Malone, NY USA
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to TomL_12953 Send a message via MSN to TomL_12953 Send a message via Yahoo to TomL_12953 Send a message via Skype™ to TomL_12953
Default Card Guide

It would have to have a piece perpendicular to the guide with space for two screws to fasten it to the motherboard. Unlike PC card guides these don't fasten to the case but rather to the motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2007, 03:43 PM
geneb geneb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 7
Default

Tom, could you point me to a picture or a drawing of what the correct part looks like? The image I included was just a ballpark guess as to what you guys would be after. It's been 25 years since I actually looked at the insides of an S-100 box in person.

g.
__________________
Proud owner of 80-0007
http://www.f15sim.com - The only one of its kind.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2007, 01:58 AM
mardy mardy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Here are a couple of pictures of what the card guide looks like.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg figure1.jpg (64.5 KB, 219 views)
File Type: jpg figure2.jpg (91.1 KB, 204 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2007, 03:38 AM
geneb geneb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks Mardy!

Can you tell me how wide and deep the slot is, how high the "tower" is and how wide the foot is? I also need to know the hole spacing on the bottom.

I can make something that will do the job but it will NOT look just like that. It would however be mechanically identical.

g.
__________________
Proud owner of 80-0007
http://www.f15sim.com - The only one of its kind.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2007, 01:43 PM
mardy mardy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Default

I'm in the process of creating a 3-D mechanical drawing of the original card guide. When it is completed, I will post the DXF file.

Anybody out there have the resources to make a mold?

-Mardy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2007, 02:56 PM
geneb geneb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 7
Default

Yep.

I was hoping to trade a kit for my services as I don't have the money for a kit, but I _really_ want one.

g.
__________________
Proud owner of 80-0007
http://www.f15sim.com - The only one of its kind.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-14-2007, 11:26 PM
mardy mardy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Here is a replica design that I put together. The DXF and IGES files for the design can be found at the following URL:

http://web.mac.com/mardy/iWeb/Altair/CardGuide.dxf
http://web.mac.com/mardy/iWeb/Altair/CardGuide.igs


Last edited by mardy; 12-15-2007 at 01:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2007, 05:34 AM
geneb geneb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 7
Default

That looks really nice Mardy. Unfortunately it doesn't render at all when I import it into Inventor 10.

Can you try saving it as a DWG file? Any version of AutoCAD from 2004 and prior I can read in Inventor.

tnx!

g.
__________________
Proud owner of 80-0007
http://www.f15sim.com - The only one of its kind.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-15-2007, 09:40 AM
Grant Stockly Grant Stockly is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 447
Default

Thats nice. Did you use Cobalt?

Since you did the drawing, I wonder how cheap the tooling would be... The price I got was if they had to reverse engineer my part.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adjusting or Tuning the Altair CPU Card Grant Stockly Troubleshooting 1 05-01-2008 06:07 PM
SuperAltair Card Development Grant Stockly Altair 8800 3 03-02-2008 04:04 PM
"tuning" the altair CPU card? Cappellanus Troubleshooting 6 11-19-2007 12:34 PM
Updated power supply and the RTC card sje Altair 8800 7 11-10-2007 03:44 PM
card guides frotz Altair 8800 1 10-05-2007 04:05 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.