Stockly.com Forums  

Go Back   Stockly.com Forums > Reactive Micro > PSRAM Area!

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-04-2008, 04:41 AM
rgjones rgjones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 44
Default

http://www.a2retrosystems.com/images...t/DSC07483.JPG
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-04-2008, 09:00 PM
Reactive Reactive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Oh cool. Okay then, that's a start. Of course you'll need the other logic too, but it's a good start.

Going for the Slinky approach first?

What I had envisioned is just a bread board with CPLD and SDRAM and a RAMWorks III/Slinky/RAMFactor card with fly wires attached to the DRAM DIP sockets. That way you know the RAMWorks III/Slinky/RAMFactor card is already working and then you just need to work on the memory emulation. Once that's working then backing in to one of those designs should be pretty easy.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-05-2008, 12:24 AM
rgjones rgjones is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reactive View Post
Oh cool. Okay then, that's a start. Of course you'll need the other logic too, but it's a good start..

Going for the Slinky approach first?.
Thats what I am the most famiiliar with.

Quote:
What I had envisioned is just a bread board with CPLD and SDRAM and a RAMWorks III/Slinky/RAMFactor card with fly wires attached to the DRAM DIP sockets. That way you know the RAMWorks III/Slinky/RAMFactor card is already working and then you just need to work on the memory emulation. Once that's working then backing in to one of those designs should be pretty easy.
yeah I think we have different ideas on where to plug in the logic (at least at first) - you want SDRAM to look/act/smell like old dram ... you have to remember that these cores make SDRAM look like SRAM not DRAM ....

Thats why the slinky makes a good first choice since the ram access is really hidden from the computer ....it only knows about the byte/block interface and not the memory architecture underneath ... it's all hidden

That kind of goes back to my 3 part layout i mentioned in this or another thread

1) SDRAM Controller IP
2) STD SRAM interaface code
3) Host specific code be it slinky, DRAM emulation ...etc ...
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-05-2008, 02:56 AM
Reactive Reactive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgjones View Post
I think we have different ideas on where to plug in the logic (at least at first) - you want SDRAM to look/act/smell like old dram ... you have to remember that these cores make SDRAM look like SRAM not DRAM.
Ah, yes. I do keep forgetting that. ;-)

I do see your point with the Slinky. Good call.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alternative D/C Board Fix!!!!! Grant Stockly Altair 680 0 06-03-2008 08:57 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.