PDA

View Full Version : Up and Running

bugman
06-18-2008, 11:16 AM
Well, got it running last night. Have not completed the back panel yet, or tried the terminal interface. But the main board and control board are in and I put power to the mainboard. Seems to be operating OK. Am able to observe memory locations and deposit new data. Will try a simple program tonight.

I do have one concern though that may or may not be normal. When I initially power up the mainboard, all the leds come on for a bit. Then they begin to correctly reflect the memory location and data. But the panel does not become stable for about 10-30 seconds. So to re-cap, upon power up, all leds light up for about 5-10 seconds. Then the leds operate correctly, with a few (seemingly random) flashes of all leds on. Then it becomes rock stable after 10-30seconds. I notice that the effect is more dramatic if the computer has been sitting off for a while vs. turning it off and on.

I'm no expert, but it feels to me that this is either, normal cpu cylcing, or voltages becoming stable/capacitors charging. It does not feel like an intermittent connection because it doesn't last more that 30 seconds max.

Any thoughts?

Geoff Harrison
06-18-2008, 12:38 PM
Does that happen when the halt/run switch is in the halt mode?

With mine, if I power up with the switch set to halt, the lights are instantly stable.

Geoff.

bugman
06-18-2008, 12:39 PM
Yes, it happens when started in the halt mode. Do you expereince any delay at all when powering up?

Geoff Harrison
06-18-2008, 12:44 PM
No, no delay at all. I'm not using the switching power supplies, but I doubt there would be any difference. When I power up there's no discernible delay before the the lights show whatever the switches are set to.

Geoff.

bugman
06-18-2008, 01:38 PM